Erica Johnson

Mansfield Senior graduate Erica Johnson is a redshirt junior at Ohio University. (Photo by Colin Mayr | Ohio Athletics)

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- Mansfield Senior High School graduate Erica Johnson, a redshirt junior at Ohio University, has been named to the 2021 Cheryl Miller Award watch list, an award that honors the top small forward in NCAA Division I basketball.

The list was announced Wednesday afternoon by the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The 6-foot Johnson was selected to the Mid-American Conference first-team last year  after finishing fourth in the league in points per game with a team-best 18.6. Johnson averaged 21.4 points and 7.4 rebounds in conference play.

She had 30 or more points in a game three times, including a career-high 36 against Kent State on the road. Johnson garnered the program's first triple-double, and became a 1,000 point scorer for Ohio in the MAC Tournament win over Western Michigan. 

A second-team All-Ohio selection at Mansfield Senior in 2017, Johnson averaged 20.3 points, 8.9 rebounds, 3.7 steals and 2.5 assists per game as a senior. She was selected Richland Source Player of the Year.

The selection committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

By early February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10 with the help of fan voting. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. Fan voting can be found here.

The award will be presented on April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Also this week, Johnson and senior teammate Cece Hooks from Dayton were named to the 2021 Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year pre-season watch list.

To be eligible for this award, players must compete in one of the 26 conferences deemed to be "mid-major." The following conferences are considered high-major for the purposes of this award, and thus ineligible: ACC, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, Pac-12, and SEC.

In January, 15 players will be named to the midseason watch list. The 10 semifinalists will be announced in February, with five finalists being announced in early March. The winner will be announced in late March. The list is fluid and players may play their way on or off the list over the course of the season.

The award was first given out in 2020, with South Dakota's Ciara Duffy winning the first honor.

OU is scheduled to begin its 2020-2021 season at home Nov. 25 against Liberty University.

The Bobcats finished their 2019-2020 season with a  19-11 record, including a win in the MAC quarterfinals, before the season was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Support Our Sports Coverage!

For as long as local teams are in the playoffs, our memberships are 50% OFF. Just use the code TAKESTATE50 at checkout and you'll be all set. Your support is used entirely to fund local reporting.

Load comments