Trenton Osborne wrestling

Madison's Trenton Osborne (shown here in a 2018 match) won his third straight championship at the Tom Ellis Classic on Saturday at Madison Junior High School. 

MADISON TOWNSHIP -- Madison won the team title during Saturday's Tom Ellis Classic at Madison Junior High School.

The Rams registered 288 points to capture the championship among 11 teams. Northwestern was second with 256 points, followed by Triway (251) Loudonville (201), Wooster (159), and Mansfield Senior (130). Highland was eighth (88), followed by Chippewa (74), Bucyrus (69) and South Central (44).

Three Madison grapplers won championships, including Trenton Osborne, a three-time Tom Ellis champion, who claimed the 170-pound crown. Rams' standout Nate Barrett pinned his way through the 152-pound finals, and Jamaal Coleman also won a championship at 182 pounds.

Mansfield Senior's Josh Lyons captured the 138-pound division.

The top three placers in each division are listed below:

106: 1. Zane Carr, Triway; 2. Rylee Dawson, Northwestern; 3. Cameron Haynes, JV.

113: 1. Trent Sigler, Northwestern; 2. Ted Haring, Madison; 3. Tommy Hegarty, Chippewa.

120: 1. Jayden Strickland, South Central; 2. Corey Haney, Highland; 3. Josh Bond, Madison.

126: 1. Mason Fraley, Loudonville; 2. Joey Varsonyl, Highland; 3. Adrion Hall, Mansfield Senior.

132: 1. Anthony Huber, Northwestern; 2. Jacob Atwell, Madison.

138: 1. Josh Lyons, Mansfield Senior; 2. Josh Wittel, Loudonville; 3. Tyler Arnes, JV.

145: 1. Cooper Smith, Wooster; 2. Kade Coblentz, JV; 3. Matt Adams, Northwestern.

152: 1. Nate Barrett, Madison; 2. Gavin Walsh, Chippewa; 3. Michael Briggs, Triway.

160: 1. Kael Scott, Bucyrus; 2. Brady DuVall, Northwestern; 3. Hunter Hutcheson, Madison.

170: 1. Trenton Osborne, Madison; 2. Hal Huber, Northwestern; 3. Mason Taylor, Triway.

182: 1. Jamaal Coleman, Madison; 2. Colt Slankzea, Northwestern; 3. Corbin Davis, Loudonville.

195: 1. Joey Lyons, Wooster; 2. Matt Savick, Madison; 3. Alex Augustine, Loudonville.

220: 1. Jimmy Lyons, Wooster; 2. Alex Merwin, Triway; 3. Massiah Ali, Northwestern.

285: 1. Luke Daley, Triway; 2. Isaac Ott, Northwestern; 3. Mason Pierce, Loudonville.

Support Our Journalism

Sports reporters need great teammates, and that’s you. If local high school sports reporting is important to you, purchase a Source membership for as low as $4.99 per month. You’ll be the MVP of our sports department.

Load comments