An IMSA vehicl turns through the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in 2019.

LEXINGTON -- Premier professional sports car racing returns to Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for the fourth consecutive year when International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) brings four racing series to Lexington from May 14 to 16.

The Acura Sports Car Challenge Presented by the TLX Type S showcases the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship as Sunday’s headliner. The IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge is Saturday’s racing feature. The other two IMSA series to take the track are IMSA Prototype Challenge and Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup which will race twice.

Five races in total will take the green flag during the weekend.

IMSA’s flagship IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship series competes at 12 of North America’s leading sports car venues.

Competition takes place in five classes – Daytona Prototype international (DPi), Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2), Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3), GT Le Mans (GTLM) and GT Daytona (GTD) – and brings together renowned drivers with leading manufacturers for some of the world’s biggest sports car events, such as the Rolex 24 At Daytona and Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

At the Acura Sports Car Challenge Presented by TLX Type S, the DPi, LMP3 and GTD classes will compete. Follow and join the conversation with #IMSA. 

From the showroom to the speedway, the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge is IMSA’s showcase for the latest in American-made and imported high-performance sports cars, coupes, hatchbacks and sedans. This series is home to the same cars seen on streets and highways around the world and offers racing in two classes – Grand Sport (GS) and Touring Car Racing (TCR) – running a 10-race schedule in tandem with the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. 

The IMSA Prototype Challenge series is a multi-class platform for future IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship drivers and veteran drivers alike. Entering its 16th season, IMSA Prototype Challenge features two classes in 2021 with six races – all one hour and 45 minutes in length – held on North America’s premier road courses. The series will continue to feature the global-spec LMP3-1 and LMP3-2 prototypes. The endurance format pairs two drivers per car.

The Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich® Tires is the signature spec series for Mazda Motorsports. Mazda-powered grassroots champions can earn a Mazda scholarship to compete in the series. The Mazda MX-5 Cup champion earns a $250,000 scholarship.

Support Our Sports Coverage!

Sports reporters need great teammates, and that's you. If local sports reporting is important to you, purchase a Source membership for less than $5/month. You'll be the MVP of our sports department.

Load comments