Camden Walter.jpg

Shelby offensive lineman Camden Walter (65) handles a Van Wert defender while Owen Fisher slips through a hole during the regional final playoff game at Skiles Field last month.

FINDLAY — North central Ohio was well represented when the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association introduced the All-Northwest District football team Wednesday night.

Players from Ashland, Shelby, Wynford, Crestview, Colonel Crawford and Lucas were recognized with special awards by a media panel from across the district.

In Division III, Ashland linebacker Jakob Beverly was selected the Defensive Player of the Year. He was joined on the first team by offensive lineman Kristian Gehrisch, quarterback Declan Rohr, running back Ethan Hartley and defensive lineman Jake Bever.

Aveon Grose

Mansfield Senior junior safety and Pitt recruit Aveon Grose was selected to the All-Northwest District first team in Division III.

Mansfield Senior defensive back Aveon Grose and Madison linebacker Nathan Barrett also earned spots on the first team.

In Division IV, Shelby’s Camden Walter was selected the Lineman of the Year, while Ontario’s Chris Miller shared the Coach of the Year award with Van Wert’s Keith Recker.

Chris Miller.jpg

Ontario football coach Chris Miller talks to his team during the Clear Fork game in September.

Joining Walter on the first team were Shelby receiver Blaine Bowman, running back Owen Fisher, defensive lineman Nathan Zehner, linebacker Carson Ingram, defensive back Andre Hill and punter Marshall Shepherd.

Other area players to earn a spot on the all-district first team in Division IV included offensive lineman Bruce Swainhart and defensive back Brady Tedrow of Clear Fork; quarterback Ethan Snyder and defensive lineman Jonathan Nagel of Ontario; and kicker Dominic Pittman and linebacker Brayden Eckels of Galion.

In Division V, Wynford quarterback Dustin Brady shared the Offensive Player of the Year award with Otsego quarterback Joseph Dzierwa. Wynford receiver Lucas Hackworth, offensive lineman Baily Skidmore and linebacker Cody Taylor also earned spots on the first team.

In Division VI, Crestview quarterback Ross Kuhn shared the Offensive Player of the Year award with Coldwater quarterback Myles Blasingame and Fairview quarterback Doug Rakes. Colonel Crawford defensive lineman Chase Walker was selected the Defensive Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Archbold linebacker Carson Meyer. Colonel Crawford’s Konner Moore was the Lineman of the Year and Colonel Crawford coach Ryan Teglovic shared the Coach of the Year award with Ken James of Northwood and Fairview’s Doug Rakes Sr.

Crestview receiver Evan Hamilton, offensive lineman Hayden Morse, defensive lineman Jor-el Taylor and linebacker Aidan Godsey were first team selections. They were joined on the first team by Colonel Crawford running back Tristan Cross, linebacker Carson Feichtner and defensive back Carter Valentine.

Lucas’ Tucker Nolen was selected the Lineman of the Year in Division VII. Lucas linebacker Ethan Wallace joined Nolen on the first team, as did Crestline defensive lineman Ethan Clark.

Support Our Sports Coverage!

For as long as local teams are in the playoffs, our memberships are 50% OFF. Just use the code TAKESTATE50 at checkout and you'll be all set. Your support is used entirely to fund local reporting.

I have covered high school sports in Richland County since 2000. Email him at or follow him on Twitter: Follow @curtjconrad on twitter.

Load comments