Connor Morse

Crestview's Connor Morse runs for a big gain in a Division VI, Region 22 semifinal game against Carey at Marion's Harding Stadium. Morse was selected to the Firelands Conference first team as a running back and defensive back.

OLIVESBURG — Crestview’s perfect run through the Firelands Conference didn’t go unrewarded when the All-Firelands Conference teams were announced.

Steve Haverdill was selected the Coach of the Year and Connor Morse was a first-team selection on both offense and defense.

The Cougars won their second straight FC title after sharing the crown with Norwalk St. Paul and Monroeville last year. Crestview’s last outright title came in 2011.

The Cougars reached the Division VI, Region 22 semifinals before falling to Carey last weekend, finishing the season with a 12-1 record. The 12 wins were the most in a single season in program history.

Morse, who rushed for 1,949 yards and 32 touchdowns, was joined on the first-team offense by quarterback Hayden Kuhn, receiver Gabe Smedley, tight end Shawn Bailey and guard Mason Ringler.

Kuhn completed 90 of 133 passes for 1,594 yards and 19 touchdowns in his first season as a starter. Smedley had 31 receptions for 450 yards and six touchdowns while Bailey had four catches for 93 yards and two TDs. Ringler helped clear the way for an offensive that averaged 360.1 yards and 36.2 points a game.

Defensively, Morse had a team-high 144 tackles from his safety spot. He was joined on the first team by defensive end Owen Barker and linebackers Aidan Godsey and Wade Bolin. Barker ranked among area leaders with 13.5 sacks and 18 tackles for loss among his 96 stops. Godsey had 95 tackles, while Bolin was in on 65 stops.

Other area first-teamers were Plymouth’s Shae Sparks, who was selected as both a running back and a defensive back, and Mapleton’s Joe Shoup (tackle) and Jake Lesco (linebacker).

Area second-team selections included Crestview’s Adison Reymer (receiver), Noah Stuart (guard), Caleb Cunningham (tackle), Brier Godsey (linebacker), Barker (punter) and Devin Holloway (kicker); Plymouth’s Caiden Allen (receiver and punter) and Caleb Porter (tackle and defensive line); and Mapleton’s Jake Lesco (running back), Shoup (defensive line) and Hunter Sanders (defensive back).

Support Our Sports Coverage!

Sports reporters need great teammates, and that's you. If local sports reporting is important to you, become a Source Member today! You'll be the MVP of our sports department.

I have covered high school sports in Richland County since 2000. Email him at or follow him on Twitter: Follow @curtjconrad on twitter.

Load comments