Roger Merrell

Mansfield Senior's Roger Merrell drives to the basket during the first half Tuesday at Madison Middle School. 

MANSFIELD -- Wooster claimed the Player of the Year and Coach of the Year honors on Wednesday when the Ohio Cardinal Conference boys basketball all-star squad was released.

Senior Ezra McKee earned Player of the Year honors, while Mark Snowbarger was Coach of the Year. The Generals won the OCC regular season championship.

The remainder of the squad included first- and second-team units, and honorable mention athletes.

First Team: Ashland sophomore Luke Denbow, Lexington senior Max Waldruff, Ashland senior Mitch Heilman, Wooster senior Reece Mitchell, Mansfield Senior senior Roger Merrell, Wooster sophomore Brayden Hamilton, and Madison senior Tyler Tackett.

Second Team: Mount Vernon junior Blake Meyer, Wooster sophomore Micah McKee, West Holmes senior Jacob Hammond, Mansfield Senior junior Shad Creamer, Ashland junior Eli White, Lexington senior Dylan Spears, and Lexington senior Kaydan Berry.

Honorable Mention: Ashland freshman Grayson Steury, Lexington senior Danny Shaffer, Lexington senior Isaiah Pack, Madison senior Dylan Metz, Madison senior Jay Jones, Mansfield Senior senior Cameron Todd, Mansfield Senior senior Davin Brown, Mount Vernon senior Evan Boatwright, Mount Vernon junior Dayne Burgess, West Holmes sophomore Garrett Eastep, West Holmes senior Jacob Goudy, Wooster sophomore Drew Dossi, Wooster junior Owen Roach.

Support Our Journalism

Sports reporters need great teammates, and that’s you. If local high school sports reporting is important to you, purchase a Source membership for as low as $4.99 per month. You’ll be the MVP of our sports department.

Load comments