Chase Carter

Lexington's Chase Carter delivers to the plate during an Ohio Cardinal Conference game against Wooster at Mansfield Christian.

LEXINGTON — In a district loaded with Division II talent, Lexington’s Chase Carter distinguished himself.

Carter was selected the Division II Player of the Year when the District 9 baseball teams were introduced Wednesday afternoon, while Shelby coach Jon Amicone was selected the Coach of the Year.

An Ashland University recruit, Carter had four hits and four runs batted in in Lexington’s 6-5 sectional semifinal win over Wapakoneta on Wednesday. He was joined on the Division II first team by Shelby’s Marshall Shepherd, Baline Bowman and Marek Albert.

Area second-teamers included Shelby’s Luke Shepherd, Clear Fork’s Jared Scott, Lexington’s Cole Pauley and Galion’s Brody Symsick.

Honorable mention sections were Mansfield Senior’s Joshua Henley and Quintin Little, Lexington’s Gabe Hamilton and Kevan Grimm, Clear Fork’s Kaleb Hollar and Ben Blubaugh, Ontario’s Caden Armstrong and Owen Hatfield, Shelby’s Logan Green and Alex Bruskotter and Galion’s Troy Manring and Carter Keinath.

Division I

Ashland’s Chase Hunt was the only local player to earn a spot on the Division I first team.

Teammates Jon Metzger and Logan Fulk were honorable mention selections. They were joined on the honorable mention list by Madison’s Kaden Mullins and Seth Ohl.

Anthony Wayne’s Garret Pike was the Division I Player of the Year. Anthony Wayne’s Mark Nell was the Coach of the Year.

Division III

Colonel Crawford’s Dan Gorbett was selected the Division III Coach of the Year, while Crawford seniors Cade Hamilton and Drayton Burkhart were first team selections.

Wynford’s Cody Taylor earned a spot on the first team, as did Crestview’s Owen Barker.

Colonel Crawford’s Carson Feichtner and Bucyrus’ Kael Scott were second team picks.

Honorable mention selections included Crestview’s Hunter George and Mason Ringler, Bucyrus’ Nick Middleton and Malachi Bayless, Wynford’s Dylon Robinson and Grant McGuire and Colonel Crawford’s Mason McKibben and Brock Ritzhaupt.

Division IV

Crestline’s Caden Parsons and Buckeye Central’s Alex Kanney were the area’s only two first team picks in Division IV.

Plymouth’s Luke Hamman and Cole Wentz and Lucas’ Andrew Smollen were second team selections.

Honorable mention sections were Buckeye Central’s Kaiden Vaughn and Tommy Phillips, Crestline’s Ethan Clark and Brock Noblit and Mansfield Christian’s Will Connell and Joshua Kochheiser.

Support Our Sports Coverage!

Sports reporters need great teammates, and that's you. If local sports reporting is important to you, purchase a Source membership for less than $5/month. You'll be the MVP of our sports department.

I have covered high school sports in Richland County since 2000. Email him at or follow him on Twitter: Follow @curtjconrad on twitter.

Load comments