Wicked lede art

Jennafer Newberry as Glinda (left) and Lissa deGusman as Elphaba are shown here during the Broadway touring company's production of Wicked.

COLUMBUS -- CAPA and PNC Broadway in Columbus have announced the return of Wicked, Columbus’ most popular musical, to the Ohio Theatre May 18 to June 5.

Tickets are on sale now and masks are optional for these performances. The show schedule is as follows:

Wednesday, May 18, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 19, 2 & 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 20, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 21, 2 & 8 p.m.

Sunday, May 22, 1 & 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 24, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 25, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 26, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 27, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 28, 2 & 8 p.m.

Sunday, May 29, 1 & 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 31, 7:30 p.m.

Local News. Locally Powered.

Our goal is to help make the community a better place to live and work, and to do that through reliable, independent, local journalism that focuses on solutions. Help us tell the whole story of our region by becoming a member today.

Wednesday, June 1, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, June 2, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, June 3, 8 p.m.

Saturday, June 4, 2 & 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 5, 1 & 6:30 p.m.

Tickets start at $43 and can be purchased in-person at the CBUSArts Ticket Center (39 E. State St.), online at www.capa.com, or by phone at 614-469-0939.

The Broadway sensation Wicked looks at what happened in the Land of Oz … but from a different angle.

Long before Dorothy arrives, there is another young woman, born with emerald-green skin, who is smart, fiery, misunderstood, and possessing an extraordinary talent.

When she meets a bubbly blonde who is exceptionally popular, their initial rivalry turns into the unlikeliest of friendships … until the world decides to call one “good” and the other one “wicked.” 

With a thrilling score that includes the hits “Defying Gravity,” “Popular,” and “For Good,” Wicked has been hailed by The New York Times as “the defining musical of the decade,” and by Time Magazine as “a magical Broadway musical with brains, heart, and courage.” 

Having recently celebrated its 16th anniversary on Broadway, Wicked is the winner of more than 100 international awards including the Grammy Award and three Tony Awards.

Wicked has been performed in more than 100 cities in 16 countries around the world (US, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Japan, Germany, Holland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, The Philippines, Mexico, Brazil, Switzerland, and China) and has thus far been translated into six languages: Japanese, German, Dutch, Spanish, Korean and Portuguese.

Wicked has amassed nearly $5 billion in global sales and has been seen by more than 60 million people worldwide.

Based on the novel by Gregory Maguire, Wicked has music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz and a book by Winnie Holzman. The production is directed by Tony Award winner Joe Mantello with musical staging by Tony Award winner Wayne Cilento. Wicked is produced by Marc Platt, Universal Stage Productions, The Araca Group, Jon B. Platt, and David Stone.

For more information about Wicked, visit www.WickedTheMusical.com.

Support Our Journalism

If you've ever experienced the joy of creativity and culture, then you know the value of the arts. Your support of our reporting enhances that. Become a Source member today.