Crawford County high school seniors

These Crawford County high school seniors were honored Monday by United Bank for their academic achievements this school year.

BUCYRUS -- United Bank hosted the annual Academic Awards Breakfast in the Bucyrus Community Hospital Café Conference Room on Monday, April 29.

Each year the breakfast is held to honor seniors from each of the county high schools. They are chosen by their administrators according to their academic records, extracurricular activities, and overall achievements.

The speaker was Nadia Oehler, Director of the Crawford County United Way. She talked to the students about accomplishing their dreams, near or far, but to remember that Crawford County can be their home.

“Your friends and classmates may say negative things about our area. Maybe you are feeling that way right now. Feeling like your hometown could never be the place you settle long-term. But I’m here this morning to tell you that this community that we live in, can only ever be as good as the work that we put into it.

“Wherever you go and whatever you end up doing, show up. No matter what topic you might be interested in, or where your passions fall, show up and take a seat at the table of people who are trying to make the world a better place.”

United Bank President Don Stone congratulated the students on their accomplishments, challenged them to enjoy the next phase in their learning process, and encouraged them to use their talents to help make the world a better place.

Given the challenges each of the students will face in the next step of their academic careers, United Bank gave each recipient a copy of the book, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff by Richard Carlson, and an Amazon gift card.

Congratulations to these 2019 Crawford County Scholarship winners:

Buckeye Central: Elizabeth Cronau, Carson McCarthy; Bucyrus: Sarah Lipscomb, Kristen Vaughn; Colonel Crawford: Zoe Kalb, Nathan Wingert.

Crestline: Alandra Tesso, Caitlin Harley.

Galion: Gabrielle Kaple, Jalyn Oswald.

Wayside Christian: Zyan Hickman, Natalie Wert.

Wynford: Kora Dutton, Noah Smith.

Recommended for you