Sarah Lipscomb

Bucyrus High School senior Sarah Lipscomb (second from right) represented the Bucyrus City School District in the Franklin B Walter All-Scholastic Award program for the 2018-2019 school year. Pictured with Sarah is Mid-Ohio Educational Service Center interim Superintendent Ed Swartz (far left), Bucyrus High School English teacher Terra Hamm (second from left) and Bucyrus Superintendent Kevin Kimmel (far right).

BUCYRUS – Bucyrus High School senior Sarah Lipscomb represented the Bucyrus City School District during the 2018-2019 Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award program.

She was recognized at the annual banquet Wednesday, March 26 at the Mid-Ohio Conference Center.

Lipscomb is a well-rounded student, serving as President of Student Council and Science Club, Vice President of Girls Boosters and National Honor Society and Section Leader and Squad Leader in the BHS Marching Band and Pep Band.

She is the captain and four-year member of the tennis team and three-year member of the track team. Lipscomb has also been involved in Young Life, Quiz Team, Teen Institute and the Student Leadership Group.

“We are excited to honor someone who has achieved the highest level you can achieve here at the Secondary School,” Bucyrus Secondary School Principal Mark Burke said. “Sarah is a model student and has been very involved in all areas of student life during her time at Bucyrus High School.”

Before being selected, Lipscomb submitted an application and essay highlighting the person who has made the most positive impact on her life. She chose Bucyrus High School English teacher Terra Hamm.

“Mrs. Hamm is an amazing teacher in the lives of each and every one of her students, but is also a second mother in my life,” Lipscomb said. “She has had the biggest impact on my life, both personally and academically.”

Following graduation, Sarah plans to attend the University of Findlay to pursue a degree in Nursing.

Support Our Journalism

The Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Program was established by the Ohio Superintendent's Educational Service Center Association to promote student achievement and recognize outstanding students. A senior from each school district within the State of Ohio will receive the award annually.

This Scholarship award is named in honor of Franklin B. Walter who served as State Superintendent of Education for Ohio from March 1977 until August 1991. Throughout his career, Dr. Walter has exemplified concern for young people and has dedicated his life to the improvement of education in Ohio.

Applicants must be a high school senior from a local, city, or exempted village school. Eligible students must demonstrate outstanding academic achievements as indicated by high school class rank, cumulative grade point average, and other achievement awards as stipulated by the Franklin B. Walter program. The students are expected to have been a positive contributor in their high school and in their community.

For more information regarding this award, contact Dr. Mark Burke at the Secondary School at 419-562-7721.